|||||||||||||||Musicians ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Rachid BERKANI / lute

Affectionately nickname ‘The Handsome one” was born on the 11th of September 1937 in Algiers, in the bosom of the Casbah where artists flourished; there he quickly developed a passion for Chaâbi.

Rachid Berkani got into the arts very young. His brother, Abderrahmane Berkani was a well known luthier and composer and Rachid used to go with him to rehearsals, concerts and traditional festivals. It was during that period that he met the great musician – Missoume.

Incredibly passionate about Chaabi music, the young Berkani trained hard and taught himself to play the lute, the guitar and the mandolin.

In 1963, Algerian radio launched a competition which Rachid Berkani took part in. At this time, he worked with the big names in Chaabi and Andalusian classical music such as Mustapha Skandrani, Belkayed Abdelghani Mohamed Kabour (called "The Tailor), Mohamed Rochidi (the" Chickh Namouss ") Kadour Cherchalli, Mohamed Mezghena, Moh Sghir Laama, and many others.
Rachid went on to win that competition and became the youngest member of the radio’s orchestra at that time.

This adventure lasted 36 years. Within this band, led by pianist Skandrani Mustapha, Rachid Berkani encountered the greatest figures of Algerian,(El Hadj Mohamed El Anka, El Boudjemaa Ankis), Tunisian, Moroccan and Egyptian music (Farid El Attrache).

He also dabbled in acting and obtained roles alongside Fadila Dziria, Saboundji, Farida El Hachemi Guerouabi to mention a few.

In 1999, Berkani retired but remained in contact with the art world. Then in 2005 he met Safinez Bousbia and joined the El Gusto Orchestra....

< Back
blog Téléphone Arabe Nos Partenaires

|||||||||||||||Les Musiciens ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Rachid BERKANI / Luth

Celui que l’orchestre d’El Gusto surnomme affectueusement « Le Beau Gosse » est né le 11 septembre à Alger 1937, dans ce berceau des artistes qu’est la Casbah où il développa très vite une véritable passion pour le Chaâbi.

Rachid Berkani fréquente le milieu artistique très jeune. Son frère Abderrahmane Berkani est luthier et compositeur. Rachid Berkani l’accompagne aux répétitions ainsi qu’aux fêtes traditionnelles. A cette époque, il rencontre le grand musicien Missoume.

Passionné par la musique Chaâbi, le jeune musicien s’entraîne dur et apprend seul à jouer du luth, de la guitare et du mandole.

En 1963, la radio algérienne lance un concours auquel participe Rachid Berkani. A cette occasion, il travaille auprès de grands noms du Chaâbi et de la musique classique andalouse tels que Mustapha Skandrani, Abdelghani Belkayed, Mohamed Kabour (dit « Le Tailleur), Mohamed Rochidi (dit « Chickh Namouss »), Kadour Cherchalli, Mohamed Mezghena, Moh Sghir Laama, et bien d’autres.

Remportant le concours, Rachid Berkani est le plus jeune membre de l’orchestre qui officie pour la radio et la télévision.

Cette aventure dure 36 ans. Au sein de cet orchestre, dirigé par le grand pianiste Mustapha Skandrani, Rachid Berkani rencontre les plus grandes figures de la musique algérienne (El Hadj Mohamed El Anka, Boudjemaa El Ankis), tunisienne, marocaine et égyptienne (Farid El Attrache).

Musicien, Rachid Berkani s’essaie aussi au métier de comédien. Il obtient ainsi des rôles aux côtés de Fadila Dziria, Farida Saboundji, El Hachemi Guerouabi…

En 1999, il prend sa retraite tout en restant en contact avec le monde artistique.

En 2005, Safinez Bousbia le contacte pour intégrer l’orchestre d’El Gusto…

< Retour aux musiciens
blog Téléphone Arabe Nos Partenaires